The Front Porch

My heart lies at Your feet in fear.

My vision trembles and thoughts cry:

Shall He that made the ear not hear?

I wait through all the waiting year,

Bringing You my waning sigh;

My heart lies at Your feet in fear

And yet this quiet hope hangs near,

A question with no firm reply:

Shall He that made the ear not hear?

I watch, in hope You will appear;

Lord, hear! I cry. My words aim high –

My heart lies at Your feet in fear.

Clouds laugh at me and vacuums jeer;

But there is time still to defy.

Shall He that made the ear not hear?

The heavens sit, a blank frontier,

Yet nothing hides there from Your eye.

My heart lies at Your feet in fear…

Shall He that made the ear not hear?4

~ “He that made the ear” by Matthew Pullar (After George Herbert’s “Longing”)

Our family home rests on a plot of seven and a half acres in the Finger Lakes region of upstate New York. One of the features we fell in love with when we found the house is the large front porch.

We moved in during March – mud season. We quickly fell into the habit of removing our shoes on the porch so as to not track in a mess. When we found the floor to be a little chilly in socked-feet, we placed slippers just inside the front door to put on as we entered.

We remove our shoes for purely pragmatic reasons. We don’t have any cultural or religious mandates. We don’t have any safety concerns (like when I’ve had to remove my shoes at psychiatric units so I wouldn’t hang myself with the shoelaces). We do it purely to keep the house clean. And we provide slippers for comfort.

I’ve placed the meditations in this section on “the front porch” because they offer views of faith and mental illness that help you remove the mud-caked stereotypes of the world before you enter into the particular perspective I have as a person of faith with a mental illness. While the “slippers” I provide may seem foreign and fail to fit perfectly, hopefully they will keep your feet warm as we explore the house together.

Digital StillCamera

Leave a Reply

