Looking Up

I lift up my eyes to you,

to you who sit enthroned in heaven.

As the eyes of slaves look to the hand of their master,

as the eyes of a female slave look to the hand of her mistress,

so our eyes look to the Lord our God,

till he shows us his mercy. (Psalm 123:1-2)

I remember a time in therapy when my counselor simply asked me to sit up straight and look at him. Somehow, the mere act of looking up was enough to lighten my load. There is something therapeutic about looking up, particularly when we look up as an act of reverence.

When I receive the blessing at the end of a worship service, I look up and breathe in the power of the Holy Spirit.

At a Billy Graham conference, I felt inspired as I looked up and joined countless others in songs of praise.

Driving around the Adirondacks near our family cabin, I look up and see the lofty mountains and am in awe.

As I awakened in the morning to my son’s voice and looked up into his smiling face, I am reminded I have a reason to carry out the day.

Looking up to see the hand of the LORD in the works of creation can pick us up when we feel down or put us in our place when we are over-inflated with ourselves.

When we respond to life that often casts us down by looking up to God, things are simply bound to start looking up for us. We are better able to face what lies ahead with confidence, assurance, and grace.

Leave a Reply

