What We Need, When We Need It

By day the Lord directs his love,

at night his song is with me—

a prayer to the God of my life. (Psalm 42:8)

God knows just what we need, right when we need it.

In the daytime, when the bright glare of the sun is beating down and we are tempted to quit working and lounge in the shade, the LORD’s loving-kindness brings us strong relief and keeps us focused on the task at hand.

At night, when we may become discouraged with little or no visible signs of God’s love, the melody of a prayerful song can remind us that our lives indeed have had and will continue to have meaning and purpose.

God knows just what we need, right when we need it.

During periods of mania, the last thing I need are bright splashes of apocalyptic visions. So instead God sends me calming people who help keep my feet on the ground.

During seasons of depression, I don’t need any help being reminded of my sin. I need help becoming motivated to do something about it. So God sends me encouragers.

God knows just what we need, right when we need it. And in God’s own time, God gives it to us.

Leave a Reply

