Divine Remembering

I will remember the deeds of the Lord;

yes, I will remember your wonders of old.

I will ponder all your work,

and meditate on your mighty deeds. (Psalm 77:11-12)

While I regret many of my own past deeds when I’ve been off balance, one kind of remembering always brings me deep satisfaction and that is remembering the works of the LORD.

I remember God miraculously protecting me the time I spun out on ice in interstate traffic, doing several 360s before gently landing in the snow and mud backwards in the median.

I remember God quietly leading me when I had no idea what I would do with my life, speaking gentle (and not so gentle) words through loving friends and family.

I remember God answering my prayer for a companion in life just days after I had changed my mind about ending therapy and relocating to a new city.

I remember these and many other wonderful moments when God has turned my life around.

For someone who has trouble staying balanced, it’s great to know Someone who can balance the whole world in divinely loving hands. For someone who often lives in darkness, it’s great to know Someone who shines the light. For someone who often gets lost, it’s great to know Someone willing to point the Way.

Leave a Reply

