Divine Satisfaction

Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love,

so that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.

Make us glad as many days as you have afflicted us,

and as many years as we have seen evil. (Psalm 90:14-15, NRSV)

For many years, verse 14 has been part of my morning prayer. It’s a beautiful request of the LORD to start each morning with persistent evidence of divine love; pure satisfaction that motivates us to rejoice and be glad throughout our days.

As we move to verse 15, however, the request becomes bolder. It is almost an accusation. The thought that God has afflicted us for innumerable days and that we have seen evil for years is a radical claim. You can almost hear a commanding tone in the Psalmist’s prayer, “Make us glad…”

The more I reflect on this, however, the more I think I will add verse 15 to my morning prayers. While I have not experienced the depth of affliction or seen the evil of many other faithful believers, as I pray, I’m praying for (and with) others as well. I pray this Psalm with my brothers and sisters who struggle to be set free from mental illness such as bipolar disorder. Those who are homeless. Those in prison. Those without family and friends watching over them.

Maybe one day in Paradise we will gather and reflect on the gladness the Lord has brought our way and delight in disorder.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

