Consolation Surprise

When anxiety was great within me,

your consolation brought me joy. (Psalm 94:19)

I was sitting in the psychiatric unit feeling sorry for myself. Looking around at people who had visitors, I wanted to call somebody but felt the phone would only remind me of the distance between us. It seemed everyone on staff was having a hectic day and all the patients were preoccupied. So I sat there, staring at the television screen wishing I were anywhere else but where I was.

Then an aide came up and told me she had a package for me. It was a basket filled with monster-sized fruits as well as gourmet candies and cookies. I looked at the card. The basket came from a reader of my blog who had heard I was in the hospital and wanted to reach out. With some extensive research and no doubt a fair amount of time and money this kind lawyer from Houston, Texas consoled my aching heart. I’ll never forget him for that.

Leave a Reply

