Get Ready by Giving

Read Malachi 3.1-4

Then the Lord will have men who will bring offerings in righteousness,  and the offerings of Judah and Jerusalem will be acceptable to the Lord, as in days gone by, as in former years. (Malachi 3.3b-4)

We need to get ready for the coming of the Lord — not by offering the least that is expected, or the least we can get away with– but, by giving all we can. If we fail to do this, the coming of the Lord will be so intense, so demanding, we won’t be able to stand it.

Early in my ministry, I was diagnosed with a chronic illness that required hospitalization for several weeks. I was out of pastoral service for much of that year. It would have been perfectly reasonable for the church to move on without me, perhaps offering me some severance pay to fulfill a Christian duty.

But they did much more than this. They prayed for me daily, offered child care service so my wife could visit me, chipped into cover extraordinary medical expenses, and gave me a paid leave of absence until I became well. The church didn’t have to do these things, but I will be forever grateful they did.

Giving to God is much greater than this. Our lives become much richer, much more meaningful, productive and enjoyable when we give our best to God, just as God has given the best to us, in Jesus Christ our Savior.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

