God’s Word For Us

Read 2 Timothy 3.10-17

All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the servant of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work. (2 Timothy 3:16-17)

When my parents divorced, I quit going to church, I thought that since they taught me that God hates divorce, God must hate my parents, and me as well.

One thing the church taught me from an early age is the value of learning Scripture and taking it to heart. God speaks to in the words of the Bible, The Holy Spirit breathes life into us as we read God’s Word and hear it proclaimed. Every word, every verse, every book of both the Old and New Testaments help us come to a saving knowledge of God’s Word made flesh — Jesus Christ.

God’s Word in Scripture has carved a path for me in the wilderness of the world.

When I had a speech impediment, I took comfort in the story of Moses and found a way to convey what was essential.

When I struggled with my vocation, I was reassured by passages reminding me that God’s plans ultimately prevail.

As I have battled the ravages of mental illness, God puts my mind at rest as I listen to the peaceful words of the Bible.

As I wrestled with issues of guilt and shame over my own divorce, I relied on God’s promise that nothing could separate me from His love.

Scripture teaches us all we need to know about God and ourselves to embrace the saving love of Jesus Christ. No other book could can make this claim or offer us such hope. No other book equips us in this life for the next.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

