Promises, Promises

… he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus. (Philippians 1.6)

Mark Twain is known to have said, “I have no problem giving up tobacco. I’ve done it hundreds of times.”

I have started so many things with the best of intentions, only to watch them dissipate like suds on soda. This troubles me. Not for my own sake, but for the sake of my relationships. Too many times, I have sparked the hopes of my children with fun family plans only to dash them in exchange for work projects or other personal commitments. One thing I have come to find consistent in my life is my lack of consistency.

God isn’t this way. We can depend on God. Always. For everything. All that is needed for abundant life now and forever. With faith in Christ, we can count on God’s blessings even more than we count on the sun rise in the east and set in the west.

In Christ, God keeps His promises. For good.

2 Comments

  1. It’s wonderful, isn’t it. God never changes (Malachi 3:6) therefore He always keeps His promises. In Old Testament times (as you would know), covenants were only made between equals. That’s why it’s so, so amazing that God would make a covenant with us because of Jesus.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

