Lost and Found

Read John 20:1-18

He asked her, “Woman, why are you crying? Who is it you are looking for?”

Thinking he was the gardener, she said, “Sir, if you have carried him away, tell me where you have put him, and I will get him.” (John 20:15)

“The resurrection completes the inauguration of God’s kingdom. . . . It is the decisive event demonstrating that God’s kingdom really has been launched on earth as it is in heaven. The message of Easter is that God’s new world has been unveiled in Jesus Christ and that you’re now invited to belong to it.” — N. T. Wright

When Mary Magdalene first saw the empty tomb, her heart sank. The one man who believed in her; the one who had helped her believe, the one she had trusted, now was humiliated even beyond death. 

Mary cries. With her tears, she no doubt recalls the time she had spent with Jesus. The way in which he had received her. He respected her, like no man had done before. To so many others, she was a common prostitute, but to Jesus, she was a child of God. He could see in her the desire for change, the thirst for a new life and he helped her along this path.

Now he was gone. But not for good.

Easter Sunday, 1987. I was driving around aimlessly. Out of the corner of my eye I noticed a woman, scarf tied around her head, carrying a large bag. She didn’t know where she was going. I didn’t know where to take her. We were both lost. 

I took her to a downtown church,still smelling of exhaust with the woman in tattered clothes beside me. When we got inside I could feel the stares on us. An elderly gentleman in fine Easter attire ushered us to a quiet space, sat down with us over coffee. You could see the tension slowly lifting from the woman’s face as she began to feel welcomed. He was able to help her find her way home.

I walked out of church that day in tears. I, too, had found my way home. I found Christ not confined to a tomb. I found Christ living in the community of faith, ready to embrace me into his family.

Leave a Reply

